Twin Cities Burglary Defense Lawyers Representing Clients Throughout Minnesota

The word “burglary” makes people think of thieves dressed in black breaking into second-story windows to steal jewels from a safe. The reality is typically more mundane.

What Is Burglary?

In Minnesota, burglary simply means entering a building without the owner’s consent and committing a crime. You could be charged with burglary and assault, for example, if you argued with your neighbor and walked into his house uninvited, if he felt threatened with imminent physical harm.

A Complex Crime With Serious Consequences

Burglary is a serious charge. If you are convicted of first degree burglary, you can be imprisoned for up to 20 years and fined up to $35,000 in fines or both.

The Minnesota burglary statue is complicated. It takes more than 600 words to define the various forms of burglary. Charges are more serious if:

  • A weapon is involved
  • Another person is present in the building
  • The alleged burglar assaults someone during the burglary

Arrested MN attorneys have the experience to distinguish between the different types of burglary. This allows us to understand when a client has been overcharged. We have been effective in getting burglary charges reduced and cases dismissed. For example, we persuaded the court to dismiss burglary charges for lack of probable cause. We have also taken burglary cases all the way to trial and won.

Speak to a Lawyer Now: Call 612.339.5844

If you have been accused of burglary or if you believe you are under investigation for burglary, please contact us to discuss your case. An Arrested MN attorney is available to speak with you 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Do not hesitate to call us at 612.339.5844.

Our criminal defense attorneys represent clients in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area, throughout Minnesota and across the nation.

After all was said and done, first he got my implied consent dismissed and within an hour he got my criminal charges dismissed as well. I ended up pleading guilty to a petty misdemeanor for an equipment violation, needless to say huge win for Ryan, and huge win for me. — J.P.

What’s involved with my first DWI in MN?

There are four degrees of DWI in Minnesota: Fourth, Third, Second and First.  In Minnesota, your first DWI is a fourth degree misdemeanor unless you: have a prior DWI within last 10 years; have a passenger age 16 or younger with you in the car at the time of the DWI; tested over .20; or refused […]

Read Full Case Result